New Year’s Day Criterium 2017

The traditional Goldstars’ New Year’s Day Criterium was once again a great success, with a refreshing late afternoon breeze tempering the sweltering heat for our Elite riders. The showcase event of the day, the Daniel Bennett Memorial Race, proved an exciting spectacle with a slew of attacks from a range of contenders. Ultimately, the tight contest was won by Brad Soden, of the Murwillumbah Cycle Club, closely followed by the Goldstars’ own Ryan MacAnally and Inverell Cycling Club’s Ryan Thomas. Mark Laspina (Goldstars) was the first Master across the line.

DSC_0103   DSC_0102

The Elite race honours the life of former Goldstar, Daniel Bennett, who at 23 tragically passed away on a training ride in January 2007. A promising cyclist who had spent the previous two years racing for a French team in Europe, Daniel was cut down in the prime of his life by a freak heart condition, whilst home on the Gold Coast.

For full results of the New Year’s Day Criterium across all grades, see here.

The 2017 New Year’s Day Criterium wouldn’t have been possible without the wonderful support of James Frizelle’s Automotive Group and Bicycle Centre Nerang along with the team of volunteer commissaires and other club members who assisted in the running of the event. Thank you to all the riders who braved the heat, and the spectators who came along to watch what we trust was a day enjoyed by all.

Happy New Year!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *