Awards Night 2016

On Friday the 9th of December, the Goldstars held their End of Year Awards night, celebrating the club’s successes and achievements for 2016. It has been a very big year for the club. The main prizes for the year were awarded to:

Club Rider of the Year – Jesse Kerrison
Master Rider of the Year – Tim Hoy
Junior Rider of the Year – Zakk PattersonĀ 
Club Person of the Year – Chris Alomes


Our other senior award recipients were:

Goldstars’ Australian Representative – Loren Rowney
Rookie Marquee Rider – Daniel Rae
Most Improved Senior – Connor Reardon
Media Race Write-Up – Justin Randall
Senior Encouragement – Justin Randall
U19 Encouragement – Lachlan Cullane

and junior awards went to:

Most Improved Boy – Dylan Hoy
Most Improved Girl – Akala Keeble
Most Consistent – Etienne Richert
Junior Encouragement – Jack Sewell
Young Star – Luke Richert

Other members not mentioned above but also nominated for these awards, were:

Julie Barnett
Mia Hayden
Ryan Larsen
Ryan MacAnally
James Matthews
Courtney Patterson
James Rylands
Franky Sewell
Violet Todd

Congratulations to all award nominees and recipients!


2016 has seen the club compete on the road and track from U9s through to Masters 8, at a local, open, state and national level. We celebrated many national champions, hosted the Goldstars Junior Carnival and the Queensland Junior and Para-Cycling Road Championships (which was awarded CQ Junior Event of the Year), and were crowned CQ Club of the Year. We ran road racing from January til the end of November, our junior development program and senior track 100 lappers each week throughout the year. Thank you to all club members who volunteered to make all this possible, our coaches and commissaires, first aiders, executive committee, parents and supporters. You may not receive the glory the athletes sometimes do, but your efforts do not go unrecognised. With no racing being held in December, here’s to some rest and relaxation and a safe and peaceful Christmas holiday.

The club’s next racing will be the traditional Goldstars’ New Year’s Day Criterium, to be run as a restricted open at Nerang. (Details to follow.)

Thanks for a fantastic 2016, Goldstars!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *