2016 Club Awards

Save the Date:
6pm Saturday 9 December 2016
The Wallaby Hotel (function room)
For junior and senior members alike, trackies and roadies, women and men. Come one, come all.



Goldstars successfully host the 2016 QLD Junior and Para Cycling Road Championships

We’ve been very busy over the last few months, as the lack of posts to our website shows. However, it’s time to blow our own trumpet, and that of Queensland cycling. The weekend of 23-24 July 2016 saw the Goldstars host – in conjunction with Cycling Queensland – the 2016 QLD Junior and Para Cycling Road Championships here on the Gold Coast and with great success.

One hundred and twenty athletes from twenty clubs across Queensland lined up to compete in the road races, individual time trial and criterium events. Racing was held at four very different and purposely-chosen venues, being Nerang, Murwillumbah, Currumbin Valley and Runaway Bay. Handcyclists and tandems showcased both wonderful talent and spirit, and juniors from U9 through to U17 demonstrated the same. The camaraderie amongst the competitors before and after racing was fantastic to see, with the Queensland cycling community banding together to produce a fabulous weekend of high quality competition and safe and fun racing.

The management committee of the Gold Coast Goldstars Cycling Club would like to thank all officials and volunteers who assisted in making this such a great weekend.

DSC_0677 DSC_0155 DSC_0086 DSC_0041 DSC_0683 DSC_0878 DSC_0966 DSC_0972 DSC_0998 DSC_0634 DSC_0803





2016 AGM

6pm, Friday 18 March 2016
Nerang Bicentennial Community Centre
Meeting Room 2 
833 Southport-Nerang Road, Southport

The Club is due once again to conduct its Annual General Meeting. This meeting is an important aspect of the club and is vital to its ability to function. Following the AGM there will be a General Meeting in which you as a member will be able to have a say in the conduct and future of your club.

Please mark the 18th of March in your diary and come along and support your club. The will be nibbles and drinks available to all.


Jesse Kerrison U23 National Criterium Champion


12-months from claiming bronze at the Australia national U23 criterium on Sturt St, Ballarat, Gold Coast GoldstarJesse Kerrison is the 2016 champion. Kerrison’s State of Matter/Maap team controlled affairs for the 33km race with all six riders on the front of the race for final laps.

A breakaway of eight riders established itself a third of way through the 30 laps although its advantage would hover around the 12 second mark. The riders in the break was changing by the lap but as the raced approached the business end, State of Matter/Maap came to the front to boss affairs. Nicholas Katsonis did the lions share of work for the final laps with the team all over the front looking to set it up for Fitter. It looked to be plan a coming into fruition only for a slipped chain but up stepped Kerrison for the victory.

Full Story: http://www.cyclingnews.com/races/cycling-australia-road-national-championships-2016/u23-mens-criterium/results/


2016 NYD Performance Criterium a Success!

Gold Coast Goldstars Cycling Club New Years Day Performance Criterium incorporating the Daniel Bennett Memorial Race 2016 Image: Bruce Wilson

Gold Coast Goldstars Cycling Club
New Years Day Performance Criterium incorporating the Daniel Bennett Memorial Race 2016
Image: Bruce Wilson

What a fabulous afternoon of racing! Thanks to all who took part in the Goldstars’ New Year’s Day Criterium today as well as the team of commissaires, club volunteers and sponsors who made it all possible. Official results will follow separately but here is a teaser… The Daniel Bennett Memorial Trophy and Elite race was one by the Fraser Coast’s Jay McCarthy. The Goldstars’ very own Mark Laspina took out Masters A. With more than 160 riders across juniors, A, B, C and D grades, the afternoon showcased some fantastic performances in blustery conditions. We hope you enjoyed it. Happy New Year!

Thank you to our wonderful sponsors for helping make our New Year’s Day Criterium and Daniel Bennett Memorial Race a great success. It wouldn’t have been possible without their support.

James Frizelle’s Automotive Group
Bounce Inc. Robina
Bicycle Centre Nerang
GC BikeFit
Staging Connections

Full Results here

CQ Junior Awards 2015

A fantastic achievement for the club with so many of our juniors shining at Cycling Queensland’s 2015 Junior Cyclist of the Year Awards. Congratulations to:
Courtney Patterson – U17 Female Road Cyclist of the Year and the Southern Region’s Most Outstanding Female Sportsperson;
Lachlan Devine – U15 Male Road Cyclist of the Year Runner-Up, U15 Male Track Cyclist of the Year Finalist and the Southern Region’s Most Outstanding Male Sportsperson;
Zakk Patterson – U13 Male Road Cyclist of the Year and U13 Male Track Cyclist of the Year Runner-Up;
Etienne Richert – U13 Male Road Cyclist of the Year Runner-Up;
Dylan Devine – U11 Male Road Cyclist of the Year and U11 Male Track Cyclist of the Year;
Luke Richert – U11 Male Road Cyclist of the Year Runner-Up and the Southern Region’s Most Improved Male;
James Matthews – U9 Male Road Cyclist of the Year;
Amiel Cassidy – the Southern Region’s Most Improved Female.

These awards are in recognition of all the hard work, determination and perseverance ofthese athletes, and the guidance, support and exceptional training provided to them by their coaches.

Thank you Malcolm Rae, Brad Reardon and Shawn Patterson.


Two Goldstars on the same team — again.

Despite having released a formal rider list for 2016, it is with great pleasure that 13 Management is today announcing that Queensland based fast men Jesse Kerrison and Alex Wohler have signed contracts to join the team in 2016.

For Jesse Kerrison, joining 13 Management in the wake of his European team’s failure to launch in 2016 is not a fall back decision. “Before the Ill-fated offer from Europe, I was very close to signing on with 13 Management, and I’m very grateful to the team owners, who were willing to help me out in a difficult situation. I hope I can repay their confidence in me this year.

After a year with BMC based in Europe, Kerrison will use 2016 as an opportunity to reinvigorate his career and get back to the sort of form that saw him win multiple NRS races in 2014 including a run of six green jerseys.

For Alex Wohler, the opportunity to ride with 13 Management comes after spending season 2015 in France “I m really excited to be on board with 13 Management Giant Racing for the 2016 season. I’m looking forward to a new challenge with a new team which I’ve seen grow over the past year to being one of the most competitive teams in Australia.”

JK-AWFor the full story – follow the link to Peloton Cafe:

20th Anniversary


Thanks to everybody who came to the 20th anniversary dinner of the Goldstars Cycling Club. The club became a club on the 15th of February 1993 when a small group of people decided to start a new club on the Gold Coast that catered for cycle racing. A good night was had by all and a special congratulations to Malcolm Rae who was presented with a memento to celebrate being awarded Life Membership of the Club.